APPLY: 2023 APBF Evaristo International Poetry Prize for African Writers

APPLY: 2023 APBF Evaristo International Poetry Prize for African Writers

The APBF Evaristo Prize for African Poetry is an annual award created to inspire a fresh wave of poets with the potential to gain international recognition in the future.

Originally known as the Brunel International African Poetry Prize (BIAPP) in 2012, it was initiated by British writer Bernardine Evaristo, who led and oversaw the prize for a decade. In 2022, the Evaristo Prize was rebranded and entrusted to the management of the African Poetry Book Fund.


  • Host: African Poetry Book Fund (APBF)
  • Category: Competitions
  • Eligible Countries: African Countries
  • Reward: USD $1,500
  • No IELTS Required
  • Deadline: November 1, 2023


The African Poetry Book Fund actively fosters and elevates the growth and publication of poetry through its book series, competitions, educational workshops, and seminars. It also collaborates with publishers, festivals, literary agents, educational institutions, conferences, and any organizations dedicated to the poetic arts of Africa. Our dedication to this mission includes a commitment to securing the necessary resources to ensure the fulfillment of our endeavors with the highest standards of excellence.


To be considered for the APBF Evaristo Prize for African Poetry, the following criteria must be satisfied:

  • The Prize is open to African writers. An “African writer” is taken to mean someone who was born in Africa, who is a national or resident of an African country, or whose parents are African.
  • The prize is open to African poets who have not yet had a full-length poetry book published at the time of submission. Self-published poetry books, chapbooks, and pamphlets are exempt from this stipulation.
  • Only poems written in English can be considered, but we welcome poems in translation for consideration too. In the case that the winning work is translated, a percentage of the prize money would be awarded to the translator.
  • No past or present paid employees of the University of Nebraska Press, Akashic Books, or Amalion Press, or current faculty, students, or employees at the University of Nebraska are eligible for the prizes.
  • African poets who have published a chapbook in a New-Generation African Poets Chapbooks Box Setseries remain eligible for the Evaristo African Poetry Prize if they have not published a full-length book of poems.


  • The Evaristo Prize for African Poetry is an annual prize of USD $1,500 awarded to ten poems written by an African poet.

Required Documents

To be considered for the APBF Evaristo Prize for African Poetry:

  • Poems must be the original work of the entrant and be no longer than 40 lines each.
  • Poems may have been previously published or won previous awards.
  • People who have entered previously for the prize can re-submit but are advised to share new poems.
  • While we have no specific formatting rules, we suggest sending your manuscript in Times New Roman or Arial, 12-point font, single-spaced. We also prefer one poem per page, meaning a new poem does not begin on the same page on which another ends. The entire submission must be in black ink, no colors.
  • Method of Application

All submissions must be made through Submittable. Poems should be compiled in a single document, devoid of any identifiable information. Once entered, no changes can be made to the poems. The Submittable cover letter, concealed from screeners and judges, must contain the entrants’ name, nationality, country of birth, complete address (including their country of permanent residence), personal email address, and telephone number.

Team: Bwkreators 



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like